Day 15 Halfway Point

I'm Halfway....WHOOOHOOO!!!

I’m Halfway….WHOOOHOOO!!!

Today marks the HALFWAY point of my first ever 30 day DETOX/REBOOT. I have 15 days under my belt and only 15 days left….WOW!! I couldn’t have have imagined that I’d get this far when I began…but it REALLY wasn’t that bad…and the next 15 days should be even better.
For the rest of yesterday I had a nice big glass of fresh juice that I sipped on all afternoon and it was made with:
kale 8 leaves
romaine lettuce 8 leaves
5 stalks of celery with leaves
2 carrots
1 apple
1 sweet potato
1 handful of parsley
2″ of ginger peeled
Then for the evening I had made a nice big stir fry of:
1/2 cup of cauliflower cut in bite-sized pieces
1/2 cup broccoli cut up in bite-sized pieces
2 cups of swiss chard cut into bite-sized pieces
1 small red onion cut up small
1/2 cup of purple cabbage julienned
3 celery stalks julienned
1 large carrot julienned
1 yellow tomato cut up
I fried everything in a 1 1/2 tablespoons of olive oil and 2 garlic cloves chopped and pressed. Once the larger, firm veggies were cooking on medium heat for 7 minutes or so I threw in the chard and the tomatoes and then added the spices, curry powder, tumeric and 1 1/2 tablespoons of raw honey….I let it all simmer for a bit to get the flavors all mixed in well and then served it with some sesame seeds, hempseeds and dulse sprinkled on it….DELISH!!
I know this ISN’T RAW but it is NEARLY RAW..only stir-fried it until the veggies were slightly soft..they were still quite crunchy…I want to do more RAW but I still need some variety…and simple and easy to do stir-frys make the veggies POP abit more.
I will be investigating more RAW recipes and will be incorporating them into my lifestyle as time goes by…last night’s supper made enough for me to have another smaller portion for tonight and I’ll fill the gap with some kind of RAW veggies..maybe I’ll try a new RAW recipe.
So Monday was Earthday and keeping with that I found some GREAT ideas to USE the juice pulp from juicing all those great veggies and fruits…I have been throwing them in the compost but then I found some great recipe ideas on www.rebootwithjoe.com ….a broth and putting them in as fibre and fillings in a meatless meatloaf. Then today it HIT ME..why not use it to feed our dogs…You see we make RAW food for our two dogs, they get raw meats, veggies and herbs all mixed into a big batch we do up once a month or so. We usually throw veggies like sweet potato, celery, kale, lettuces, parsley, carrots, cabbage etc into the food processor and chop it up fine and add it to their meat mixture. I decided I’m going to save batches of veggie pulp to add to their food mixture as well as some fresh all veggies we’ll STILL chop up fresh..this way we can cut down the cost of making their food by adding more veggies and in doing so not throw so much of it out..the compost pile is getting pretty full…LOL!
Today started out much like many of my other days…hot lemon drink and then today I had a nice fruit salad..this one with:
1 apple cut up; cored(peels on)
1/2 cup of cantaloupe
1/2 cup of pineapple
1 lime juiced
1 cup of blueberries
1 teaspoon of bee pollen
2″ of ginger grated
This was a fresh, and VERY tasty fruit salad..a great start to the day.
Then for about 2pm or so…because I nibbled on the fruit salad for quite awhile..I made a GREEN JUICE with:
8 kale leaves and stalks
8 leaves of romaine lettuce
1 large cucumber
4 celery stalks
1 green apple
1 wedge of purple cabbage
1 handful of parsley
dash of dulse and Mrs. Dash saltless seasonings and a sprinkle of onion powder…YUM!!
I’ll sip on this for the whole afternoon and then have my new RAW recipe and the leftover veggie stir-fry from last night.
Tonight I’ll be going out to a meeting for a volunteer community work I do and it will be a later night for me..so maybe later this afternoon I’ll have a long soak and small nap??
Now to the one thing I have been waiting for all week..well actually since last Wednesday…my measurements and health change analysis….
Today’s weight: 145lbs..down 4 more pounds in a week…10lbs total in 2 weeks!! That’s the MOST weight I have been able to lose in like 5 years!!
BMI measurement is now 24.9..I’m in the NORMAL range for my height and weight…that’s down from the 26.6 when I first started 2 weeks ago.
Chest: 36 inches .5 inch down from last week…1 inch down from start.
Waist 33 inches..no change from last week..but down 3 inches from start.
Hips 40 inches…down .5 inch from last week and from the start.
So lets look at these number and just put them into perspective here..I was considered OVERweight when I started this only two weeks ago..now I wasn’t badly overweight but the 10lbs I have lost has now put me in the top of the NORMAL BMI range..which is FANTASTIC!!…the inches lost are more proof in the pudding so to speak that I’m losing it slowly and steadily..and it’s coming off of everywhere…I have even seen the loss in my face, my hand are not puffy in the morning…my legs feel lighter as well…I don’t get cold hands and feet anymore..which means that the loss in fluids and inflamation around nerves and blood vessels means my circulation is much better to my extrementies. This more than the actual weight loss is what makes me feel all this is TOTALLY worth it!! I’m feeling lighter, brighter and have much more energy.
To this end I’m am now amping up my exercise regimen somewhat…I now walk at a brisk pace 15 minutes and will be working that up to 30 minutes gradually over the next few days..I also so my Total Gym starter’s program which is only two exercises but I’m using the 2nd level which means right now at 145lbs I’m lifting the equilavent of 22lbs doing those exercises that work 80% of the major muscles in my body(calves, hamstrings, upper&lower abs, hips, triceps, buttocks, shoulders, upper back and chest). I’m now doing 1 set of 15 at a slow pace but will be working upto 2 sets of 25 before I will start the beginner program which will then incorporate 5 more exercises and I’ll go back down to 15 and one set and work up to two sets of 25 before moving on…I love the TOTAL GYM because it really is a TOTAL workout and I can do it gradually as I get more fit..and that is what I need right now..NOT some high intensity CRAZY workout that kills me..and then I don’t want to do it anymore…this way I’ll be working up the intensity as well as doing so on the walking…I use to walk and stay on my feet for 12 hours straight in the job…I couldn’t do that right now even if I tried…but I do want to be able to walk and get back into relatively GREAT shape compared to my present state.
So looking back on the last 15 days…and forward to the next 15..I have seen lots of improvements..ones that I can see lasting me the REST of my life…and in the coming days things can only get better…I AM NOT DOING a DIET HERE…I’m building a NEW LIFESTYLE!!! One that WILL LAST the REST of MY LIFE!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment